Fantasy

He was a wonderful artist. A story teller. When he spun his magic, no one could remain unaffected. Under his blazing sun, she all but remained over shadowed. She had gentle ways, she did. And she never begrudged him his sun. She was content to rest in the welcoming shade.

But she was always there for him. To listen, to correct, to advise, to hold his arms, pick up his clothes and plates behind. To make sure he eats, he sleeps. You get the point right ? And he took all of it as his due. She loved him yes. But she wished for once he would notice her, for all that she did.Β 

She kept the home fires burning. Literally and figuratively while he traversed through the land of fantasies. He talked about emotions, alive and raging, of gentle murmers and whispers, of sighs and nudges. And yet, or may be because of it, he never understood them in real life.Β 

She wished for once, just once, for him to notice her. Really notice her. With no dreamy eyes, with complete awareness. She wished she could be more than just an audience, she wished she could be in his fantasies!Β 

Alas, her wish was never fulfilled while she was alive. There were just too many ideas waiting to be spun into intricate stories.

And then it happened. She died.

He couldn’t write anymore. For you see, all his stories were for her, of her in many different nuances. When the muse died, the art decided to abandon him to his grief.

If only she knew, it was her, always her, that lived in his fantasy!

33 thoughts on “Fantasy

  1. another classic…..

    btw, this story reminded me of an abhijeet sawant song which goes like “ek shaks something etc etc”….. πŸ˜›

    Me: he he he! Of all the people!

  2. How could she not know? It is easy to read a man’s mind and women do a very good job of that!

    Destination Infinity

    ME: Thats the mistake that we do in any relationship.. Its not easy to u\s anyone’s mind.. She was always there for him.. may be she knew he loved her.. but it didnt show.. no obvious gestures. They are important! If you look.. most women complain that their husbands dont say I love you.. or bring flowers etc etc.. may be they wont complain.. but the lack of attention always rankles :).. If you dont believe me.. take some flowers to your wife and see the difference πŸ™‚

    1. I don’t know about how women look at it (glad to know, though) but men look at such explicit statements to be lesser than pure/true. If I go to my friends house and say thank you to him when he offers water, for example, he would think I am going nuts! I would rather go to the fridge, take it and even offer him some water. Maybe I could expect him to thank me πŸ™‚ It is true that men take relationships for granted (especially close ones) and sometimes they feel for it only after they lose them. But sometimes I feel that women are too sensitive.

      Destination Infinity

      1. Want to direct you to the response of thesanelyinsane

        but i wud still punch the bugger…u dont express love jst the way u want to…but the way the other person wants to receive it…thats a healthy mix

  3. This is beautiful Winnie..touches the heart..
    like Vinod Sir says terrific story touching and more..beautifully told..
    you captured her essence so well..

    Me : *hugs*

  4. That left a feeling of a void in me. I don’t know how that happened though, really.

    Loved it… πŸ™‚

    Me: Guess reflects the void I felt while writing it πŸ™‚

  5. u know wat .. this literally happens to me at times.. what times ? u have to guess that πŸ˜‰ ! a brilliant story indeed πŸ™‚

    Me: I know SS! yours n mine.. always isnt it ?

  6. Hey I am running an online magazine but currently I am hosting it on blogger. I am targeting the youth and the magazine is actually the “voice of the youth” and is named “youth ki awaaz”. Can you please let me know why you have switched from blogger to wordpress as even I am confused as to whether I should switch or not?

    1. Sure Anshul. The most common reason is.. as your traffic increases the site becomes inaccessible sometimes.. or the comments don’t get added.. etc etc.. besides.. the comment threading in wordpress makes it very easy to follow the conversation πŸ™‚

  7. WoW Winnie! That bought a tear to me eye. Kind of reminds me of myself (being in the girl’s shoes). 😐

    Me: Oww badz! *hugs*

  8. Beautiful story!!!!

    Aren’t we all guilty of taking our loved ones for granted and then we regret when they aren’t around!!

    Me : too true .. I wish we wouldnt take them for granted!

  9. really nice story..I guess the artist didn’t know that unconsciously, she was his muse!!

    Me: The artist and his wife.. both.. more the fools I say!

  10. Beautiful Story Meena with a very significant message…..as it speaks of a common mistake we all make in our relationships.

    Me: πŸ™‚ if only we follow it no?

  11. Terrific πŸ™‚ …..U expressed the pain of love and loss properly……hats off to you gal πŸ˜€
    @ all his stories were for her…..hmmmm 😦

    Me : Thank you πŸ™‚ if not her than who right ?

  12. very nicely written…every writer needs their muse

    but i wud still punch the bugger…u dont express love jst the way u want to…but the way the other person wants to receive it…thats a healthy mix πŸ™‚

    Me: Thats an lovely quote πŸ˜€

Humor me please? *winks*

