Linger.

You sneak upon me unaware. sometimes through the cracks in the door, sometimes on the window sill.. at the back of the rarely moved sofa. Always uninvited.

I dont want to meet you anymore. I packed everything that was supposed to be yours in neat packages and locked into the lofts. You were not welcome anymore. And yet!

Yet, you linger. Alongwith the cobwebs, dust, and Sweety’s hair. Long after the house is swept clean. In that long forgotten age old passport photo, with that grim face that we teased you about. You linger in empty boxes and bags. As if telling us, you may hide me as much as you like, but I am still around and always will be.

As if you don’t want me to forget. I may lock your room but I can’t lock you.

Why do you linger?

7 thoughts on “Linger.

  1. Everyone who has ever asked the question wishes (s)he knows the answer. Yet more often than not at least the populist sensible way wins and the question stops – without any answers ever coming or offered.

    Well written 🙂

    Me: Couldn’t agree more! I wish sometimes there was a way to get the answer!

  2. So that after a while you will find you can smile when you look at “that long forgotten age old passport photo, with that grim face that we teased you about.”

    Me: Will take me a long long time to even start remembering.. for now.. its just easy to shut it out!

  3. I am lost too

    But well written 🙂

    Me: I don’t know how to explain without opening up completely.. and thats exactly what I dont wanna do out here 😉

Humor me please? *winks*

