Adupu tudupu aayiram!

I know a weird title. And especially it being in Tamil. Most who know me already know the nature of my fluency in tamil and for those who don’t understand tamil, this is a phrase. It means basically doing everything at a time without giving credence to order.

This was one of the most choicest phrase that my dad used for anything I cooked. And when the prompt in NaBloPoMo asked me about one thing that I remember about my dad.. this stood up.

For some reason, this phrase has been haunting me for a long time. I have been wanting to write about it and my dad and yet not knowing what I could write about this quaint little turn of phrase , I dithered.

So today, I decided my fingers to do their thing and spill to my hearts content.

I lost my mom when I was 13. And since then, my dad took care of both of us, me n sis. Which included everything from cooking to cleaning. I am really not sure why he never hired a maid. We were not in want of money.. but for some reason maids have always been a no no.. it still is.

So as it happens most food were not elaborate. Though dad loves to cook, the time usually didnt permit him to indulge so we did what we called a ‘ addupu tudupu aayiram’. adduppu  means a stove. Tuddupu has no meaning ( acc to my vocabulary anyways) and aayiram means 1000. I am sure from this you cannot fathom what the phrase really means. Oh wait I have already given out the meaning..

But in this context it means, dont bother about the sequence, simply add all the ingredients to the pot and get it to boil.. and that is what we did. We wud generally make rasam , or puppu or may be occasional sambhar . Or my favorite vetta kozhumbu. And all the powders were simply put it and brought to boil.

I remember my first and their subsequent kitchen experiments. Somehow, every feedback or suggestion was not complete without using this phrase multiple time.

Sheesh I am not doing a good job of expressing what this phrase means to me. This phrase embodies the essence of the man my dad was. Easy going, fun and lazy. Ah well 😦 May be I should try something else.!!

14 thoughts on “Adupu tudupu aayiram!

  1. There’s something like a line of gold thread running through a man’s words when he talks to his daughter, and gradually over the years it gets to be long enough for you to pick up in your hands and weave into a cloth that feels like love itself. ~John Gregory Brown, Decorations in a Ruined Cemetery, 1994

    I know honey. I know.
    ((((((((((hugs))))))))))))
    lots of love

  2. After a long time, I read through a post completely (..most of the time, I comment without reading completely). It was worthwhile. Indyeah’s quote made it even better.

  3. I am a tam, and I am really stuck trying to figure out what it means leave alone pronouncing it! Seriously, what does it mean, you have to tell me!

    About my cooking, mom decided she wont enter my kitchen ever since, she learnt that the only think i cook is chicken and fish. not to mention other delicacies!

  4. winnie – no wonder i felt..our thoughts match..my mom died wen i was 8..was brought upo by dad..he never steps into the kitchen..bt yeah he does till today play th dual role just perfect

  5. Aww, your dad sounds wonderful! He reminds me of my dad who has just begun to dare to enter the kitchen these days 😛
    As for the phrase, I think it is beautiful and am definitely going to use it the next time I experiment near the stove and the Man wants to know what it is 🙂

  6. Oh Poohi, I am sorry to hear about your dad. I saw your comment on Titaxy’s blog just now about having lost him. And I had replied to your comment on my post without knowing this. A big hug from me to ease the pain,,,,Huuuuugg! Take care.

Humor me please? *winks*

